Evangelical Lutheran Church of America

Gloria Dei Lutheran Church is a member congregation of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA). A merger of three Lutheran churches formed the ELCA in 1988: the American Lutheran Church, the Association of Evangelical Lutheran Churches and the Lutheran Church in America. 

We trace our roots back through the mid-17th century, when early Lutherans came to America from Europe, settling in the Virgin Islands and in the area that is now known as New York. Before that, Martin Luther sought reform for the church in the 16th century, laying the framework for our beliefs.

The ELCA is a church that promotes ecumenical dialogue around the world, which has resulted in the establishment of cooperative "full communion" partnerships with the following Christian denominations:

  • Presbyterian Church USA
  • Reformed Church in America
  • United Church of Christ
  • The Episcopal Church
  • The Moravian Church
  • The United Methodist Church



The ELCA is comprised of 65 synods, ("synod" means walking together") that vary greatly in size, geography, membership, staffing, and program.  The synods are grouped into nine regions. Gloria Dei is a member of the Florida-Bahamas Synod, which is part of Region 9.